Menu

Just gave dd an "F" for not following directions

In READING of all things!!!! REALLY?!?! I have to actually give her a zero to get through to her?!?:banghead: She has 3 assignments for last week that I'm waiting on because she did not follow directions and I had to give them back to her to re-do, or finish. And then, she turned in this weeks assignment and did the exact same things as she did on the other assignments?!?!!!!

I swear, every teacher in my local school district should be sending me flowers and THANKING me for not sending this kid to school.:cursing:

ARGHAHAHAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Grades mean nothing to my 3rd grader. Really. I'm the one affected by them.

Being late to a soccer scrimmage, because I made her stay behind and re-do work? THAT means something to her.

ETA: I just saw you also have a 6th grader. If that's the one you're talking about, I have no knowledge of the pre-teen girl. I have enough troubles with my 8 year old. :)

:grouphug: for you and :grouphug: for her. Buy her a highlighter, and have have her highlight the important parts of the directions under your guidance. I have one that can't read/follow simple instructions either.

:iagree: I had one like this too. She did not process directions well, which was part of the reason we pulled her out of public school. If it's your 6th grader, it is normal for some kids at this age to struggle with organization and getting things done. Their brains are growing all kinds of new connections and sloughing off old ones, and they just turn to mush for a little while. Some kids navigate this time better than others.

I spent almost a year directly teaching how to follow directions: How to break them down, how to prioritize, how to re-check to make sure she was still on track.

Cat