Menu

Using Omnibus if you're secular?

I've been looking at Omnibus and I love the curriculum for many reasons but obviously it is religious. I haven't been able to see Omnibus in person and even then, I couldn't possibly see it all before I started so I was wondering if you could all share your opinions, whether you're religious or secular yourself on whether you think it could work for us. Is it possible to use Omnibus and teach your children that that's what people of a particular faith believe or is it impossible to avoid the religious aspect? Does it affect the "version" of history that is told? Please excuse anything offensive - I'm new to homeschooling and have had very little knowledge of the different branches of individual religions (We're actually hoping to study religions of the world this year!).

Thank you everyone for your help! We can't wait to get everything ordered ready for fall. :001_smile:

I've been looking at Omnibus and I love the curriculum for many reasons but obviously it is religious. I haven't been able to see Omnibus in person and even then, I couldn't possibly see it all before I started so I was wondering if you could all share your opinions, whether you're religious or secular yourself on whether you think it could work for us. Is it possible to use Omnibus and teach your children that that's what people of a particular faith believe or is it impossible to avoid the religious aspect? Does it affect the "version" of history that is told? Please excuse anything offensive - I'm new to homeschooling and have had very little knowledge of the different branches of individual religions (We're actually hoping to study religions of the world this year!).

Thank you everyone for your help! We can't wait to get everything ordered ready for fall. :001_smile:

Douglas Wilson is the author of Omnibus. He is extremely hostile toward Catholicism. Many of his claims about Catholicism and Catholic theology are simply false.