Menu

Drinks at a Restaurant

A couple of nights ago we ate out at a casual restaurant. It was a treat to go, because we have really been trying to keep our food costs down. DH was given a gift card for $50, and we decided to go out as a family I stead of leaving the kids with a sitter. So as our server was waking toward us with the check, DH and I guessed the amount we thought dinner was going to cost. I guessed about $65, while DH guessed $60. The check totalled $48.67. DH looked over the bill and saw that the server didn't charge us for our drinks. It got me thinking about how the restaurant felt about this practice. This happens often, and as a person with a big family it does help out a lot. But as a business owner, I'm not sure how I'd feel about not charging for sodas. It does add up. DH and I talked a little a out it, wondering whether the comp allowed families to eat out more often in the long run, making it better for business. What do you think?

Today we were out and decided to grab a slice of pizza each at a week old restaurant that sells by the slice or by the pie. When we got to the register, I noticed a sign that said, "If you want water, you can purchase a bottle of water for $1.00. We no longer offer tap water, and you can thank those who were filling their complimentary cup of 'water' with soda." At the soda fountain another sign read, "Please use only the blue Pepsi cup that you purchased. Do not fill up cups you brought from home or your child's sippy cup." I found the wording of the signs to be a little over the top and offensive. My first instinct was to leave, even though I had no intention to steal their soda. What do you think of these signs?

As a former business owner, I understand the sentiment of the signs... but it was expressed in the wrong way.