Menu

When is it time to get a knee injury checked out?

I whipped a loaded cart around in WM and twisted the tendon or muscle behind the right side of my left knee, although dh will say I did it running. It actually doesn't hurt but has an annoying ache. I've slowed my running and redid my routine to add more consistent weight and core exercises. It feels weak I guess is a good way to describe it, when I do a stair climbing motion and feels like it "gets caught" and I have to be careful doing things like getting in and out of the car. I am very careful how I do things because I am afraid to not be able to exercise at all, does this make sense? DR appt necessary, take more rest days from exercise? Anyother suggestions or opinions

I am not a doctor of course! LOL! About 5 years ago, my knee began hurting and I couldn't even pinpoint exactly what I had done to it. Although I finally decided later that it may have been when I was doing lunges in my backyard while carrying a 2yo on my back. I think I turned and my foot was planted and I twisted my knee. Anyways, I ignored it for about 6 months and it seemed to get worse. Then I saw an orthopedic dr. and had an MRI. I found out that I'd torn my miniscus (sp?) which is basically cartilage around the knee. They aren't able to heal by themselves. I let it go another 4 months then it started hurting worse (to the point that I couldn't sleep) after I danced the night away at my brother's wedding. I finally had the surgery and it got better after physical therapy. My husband tore his 2 years ago so badly that he couldn't put weight on it. In his case, the cartilage was stuck in the joint and preventing him from even straightening his leg.