Menu

Tell me I can quit my job and be a SAHM

I work Fri-Sun noon - midnight and have been doing this shift for 4 years. It is a good job in a high-tech field and pays great. I have a degree and wow - 18 years experience. I home school the kids Mon-Fri and my dh works Mon-Fri.

I am tired of it. Today, my dh took the girls to a flower and fairy parade in a nearby town. I couldn't go since I was working. When he stopped by on the way home to see me, the youngest cried. She wants us to move to the other town so that I will be too far away from work so I will have to stay home instead.

I started working the weekend shift so that I could spend more time with my kids.

Financially, we would be fine without my salary. I have always been paranoid about one of us being laid off, so our core expenses have always been within the budget of one of the jobs. We would have to downsize our cars and drop some discretionary spending, but we would adjust. Right?

So what is my problem? I have worked since I was 16. I was the first in my family to go to college, and I earned a full scholarship. Since I became an adult, I have never been dependent on anyone financially. In this job market if I quit my high-tech job, I may never get another one. Quitting is a one-way street. And what is with the word "quit"? I'm not a quitter.

Help me. It looks like it will work on paper, and my heart wants me to take the leap, but I have this problem with dependency. However, this is a good and it provides extra financial security and.....

It sounds like you can quit and be a SAHM. I give you permission to do this if you want to. :D You said that you have this problem with dependency....instead of thinking that you are dependent on your dh's salary, remember all the things for which your dh and children depend on you. A SAHM is depended upon by so many people in her life. It is an important position that uses all the things that make you, you.