Menu

We have done the first lesson in AAR

Dolphin

I have never done any type of curriculum review before, this is my first shot at it. Also, as a disclaimer, I am in no way benefiting from a program that I guess they have for people, I am just a customer. I use and love AAS with my 8 year old ds.

It was a great success, I am about 90% happy with it. We sat down and started off by singing the alphabet song while dd (4in less than a month) pointed to all of the letters.

Then we read the poem for the letter A. She liked it, we pointed out A's. The illustrations are great.

After that we moved onto our craft sheet. Here is my first negative niggle. On the back of the craft sheet are the instructions and the list of supplies. It suggest (optional, but would be cute) googly eyes. I didn't have any googly eyes or glue on hand. So we just colored. I had read through the teacher manual the night before and there was not any mention of supplies in the manual. I think it would be nice to at least list it in the teachers manual. What would be even nicer would be a page before the lesson plans started listing all the craft items by lesson. As it is, I will need to go page by page through the craft book. Not a BIG deal, but could be better.

We then got out the play dough and made a letter A out of it, fun.

Next, she got introduced to Ziggy the zebra. I went through the suggested introduction and then we played a game together. She was laughing, hugging Ziggy and so happy. For anyone thinking about not doing the puppet part of the program...DON"T, it was great! My daughter is so excited to be learning how to read with Ziggy.

Then we read a story together and she had Ziggy on her hand for that one.

So, by and large, I am thrilled that we took the plunge and got AAR. If people want I will post again when we have done a few more lessons.

Nicole

Guest aquiverfull