Menu

If you wonder if Conceptual Chem is enough as a stand-alone high-school chem course,

you'll probably be interested in the author's response to that question. This is my first time posting:blush5: I'm including my own question, so that you can understand the context the question was posed in. What he says makes perfect sense to me! Here it goes...

Hi Midori,

Thank you for your interest in Conceptual Chemistry.

I should tell you a bit about some of the problems we college professors face when teaching general chemistry:

1) Our students have such widely varied experiences in previous chemistry courses. So much so, that we can't assume much. Therefore, we take the attitude that we're starting from scratch. Any insight that students bring with them from previous courses is an added plus. Often, though, we spend time "unteaching". Working with conversion factors is often a hurdle in that regard.

2) Many of our students are whizzes at math. They can plug through the questions at the end of the chapter and come through with the correct answers. But they don't understand what those answers mean. We find that these students have done quite well in their high school (even AP) courses. They're accustomed to doing well, which is why they get irate to discover that their old algorithmic methods are no longer working. In college we demand conceptual understanding along with mathematical prowess.

3) Then there's the flip side of #2. Many students are strong with the concepts, but they are weak with the math. They too suffer.

Conceptual Chemistry is foremost a college chemistry text for the nonscience major. My students are typically seniors who have delayed taking their science requirement to their last semester of college. These are student who are not destined to become future scientists. But they are destined to become the general public, which has an incredible need to understand the workings and discoveries of science.