Menu

secular/non Christian (or non Western) educators and classical education?

poetic license

It seems to me that classical education has a decidedly Christian/Western bent, and I wonder what approach secular or non-Christian educators take to adapt classical education (the question also applies to a certain degree to those from non-Western cultures).

For example a main focus of Latin and Greek study is scripture-focused, and the history and literature focus is strongly Judeo-Christian in focus.

What do you adapt so that your curriculum more closely reflects your family's background and needs?

I am not an expert on classical education, but it seems to me that the Story of the World series do include stories about other cultures, e.g. stories from Africa, India, China. Compared to the topics covered in elementary school (neighborhoods, cities, state, and finally country), Story of the World has a much more global approach. I have also noticed that it seems many learn latin or ancient greek to study religious texts, but I don't think that has to be the purpose of studying those languages.

The methods of classical education can be applied to any content.

The four-year history and science rotation, the copywork, dictation, narration, outlining, report writing and debate, the logical construction of arguments, the memory work, etc. can be used to master any body of knowledge.

Choose your own source material (though many of the WTM suggestions esp. history and literature have worked for us, science--not so much) from sources that speak to you. For example, find out what the National Science Foundation recommends for science materials. Then study those sources in a classical manner.