Menu

From Saxon to Teaching Textbooks

Mama2Boys

I thought I would throw this out there for all those seasoned home schooler opinions. This is my first year homeschooling. My almost 8 year old is finishing up Saxon Math 2 next week and I ordered Teaching Textbooks 4 for him after doing the TT pre-tests. We actually enjoyed Saxon although it did seemed to drag on at times. I have heard that Saxon is behind by a grade level and I was concerned, but since it is our first year home schooling I didn't want any gaps. So, I went ahead and kept my would be 2nd grader in Saxon 2. Now, I am thinking that Saxon is not behind, but possibly ahead of grade level. Just wondering what your experience has been....

How could my average 2nd grade boy (he is very much a typical learner) be ready for Teaching Textbooks 4?

Thanks for reading my overly long rant. :D

My daughter has always had a hard time with math. We started teaching textbooks and she is doing great. I feel alot of moms I spoke to in my homeschooling arena, were all critical of TT, Oh it is behind, it is slower, Well if you look at their progression on their web page, they will be taking all the higher maths at the same time other textbooks do. However, TT teaches with alot of help explaining and correction. It may not be for all students as Saxon or Abeka is not for all students. I believe it is a perfect fit for our home. I dont worry about the behind or slow or what ever is said about it. If your children learn, they are not stressed out, but they are happy in learning, i believe you have a win win situation. nancyt.