Menu

To MAC from PC...is it really worth the $$?!

We are in need of a second computer. We have a desktop PC now that will become the children's computer for school work and their programs.

We have considered a MAC, but they are *so* expensive compared to PC's! We could get two laptops for the price of 1 basic MAC!

So...are they really worth it?!

I blog, I would like a place to keep pictures more organized (although I do have Creative Memories PC Software that I could start using again), iTunes...you know, basic life, mom, schooling stuff is what I do on the computer. Would a MAC really make me happier?!

It would mean giving up HST+...but shhhh...I haven't opened that up for a couple of months now...so obviously not a big loss! :lol:

I can't guarantee that it would, but I'm a photographer, and I do love me some iPhoto. I use Adobe Bridge when I'm editing, but I love the organization of iPhoto for my family files. I was a PC all my life. I bought a Mac Mini 2 years ago & never looked back. I've added a MacBook since then, but I still adore my Mini.

we don't defrag or do regular virus scans. In fact, if I ask him to do or look at anything on my computer, I can guarantee I wont be able to use it for a couple of hours while he "cleans it up". Of course it is wonderful that he is so logically minded and a self learner and now skilled, that he could make sure everyone has their own computer in the family- and he and the kids have 2 each. However, its not stress free.

So..I decided I wanted a "stress free" computer experience. I have also been exploring Minimalism, and getting rid of a lot of my clutter. I havent touched the room full of computer parts, of course :). But I decided it was time I had one, really good computer that brought me pleasure and that wasnt a source of stress for dh. Various friends have Macs and have given me speeches about them and I knew thats what I wanted.