Menu

Reading Pathways

mom4him

I am using this with my almost 5 year old. Done orally, it takes 5-10 minutes a day. We work on the pyramids two or three days a week. I usually have my son read one new pyramid and one that he has seen before. His fluency and willingness to sound out unfamiliar words has greatly improved. (He is a self-taught reader who tends to want to sight read.) On the days that we do not use Reading Pathways, I have him read a few pages from another book.

Please note that we are not doing the written work, my son's reading ability far exceeds his writing ability.

Has any one used this and if so what was the age of the child, how did you like it, did you see improvement in your dc, how long every day did it take?

Sandy, I have this. I am going to use it for the boys when they are a bit older but it can be used for any age that needs it. My 6 year old is NOT ready for this LOL. It is wonderful! It goes from the basic CVC words through 4 syllable words (i think its 4... I am guessing with out getting the book out to see) I also have the game word works. You should check that out as well. Havent we said we have to get together and look at out stuff LOL.

Thanks, ladies.

Good to know that it will fit a child a bit older. We are moving through the R&S Developing Better Reading and I don't want to add anything more right now but was thinking of something when he finishes that.

YES, we do need to get together wy_kid_wrangler04.:D

How is MFW going?

YES, we do need to get together wy_kid_wrangler04.:D

How is MFW going?

Its going VERY well!!! I am so excited to start ECC next year. I am like a kid at Christmas thinking about it! I really think this is what our homeschool needed. I had so much other stuff going on it was way to much for my poor dc. This is going to give me what I need (including taking time for art projects and such) without being to much. :D