Menu

HS convention in Richmond

eesmom

Hello all, I am new to HS (just started a few weeks ago) and have been contemplating about going to the HEAV convention in Richmond in June. I am a bit hesitant partly because I have never been before and wasn't sure how helpful they might be. Could you all guide a newbie and give me a real perspective on what it is like?

Is it crazy busy?

Will I really be able to get my questions answered there?

Are there discounts for curriculum available?

What are the most helpful aspects of the convention in your opinion?

Thanks in advance!

Could you all guide a newbie and give me a real perspective on what it is like? It's a large convention with lots of speakers and vendors.

Is it crazy busy? Um, yes, at times it's very crowded in the speaker rooms or vendor hall

Will I really be able to get my questions answered there? Usually yes. You may have to wait to ask. but when you do, the vendors are always good about answering questions. unless it's right after their talk and then it's crazy and well, good luck getting the change to ask, lol.

Are there discounts for curriculum available? Sometimes yes and sometimes no. Depends on the vendor. I have found some great deals. And other vendors have no discounts at all. but there is no shipping...so that is a deal right?

What are the most helpful aspects of the convention in your opinion? to see/hold the curriculum in your hand and see the quality of the product and see the whole program and not just a snippet.

it's usually worth just going on a shopping pass to get all the catalogs to look over even if you skip the speakers. I like having updated catalogs in case we want to switch things around in the year...I have most vendor catalogs at home to look through. I like catalogs over internet most days.