Menu

Anyone with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Homeschool?

I have googled this many times and can't find much. I've been battling health problems for four years non-stop, since I got a stomach bug when my oldest was almost one. Adrenal fatigue, then a rough pregnancy, then hyperthyroidism, and now CFS. I'm on Dr number three and she has been somewhat helpful. (My treatment options are very limited because of my nursing toddler.)

How do you moms with CFS manage to school your kids and take care of your need for lots of rest, especially when your kids are young?

There are several of us here who have fibromyalgia (which is very similar and sometimes the two are mistaken for each other or considered to co-exist). Honestly, I can't remember how I managed but I think it was easier than it would have been to put them in PS and have to deal with their schedule and requirements.

First of all, I'm sorry you're suffering. I hope you find some answers and get some help soon.

I don't have CFS, but what worked for my family was to do less when my kids were very young. As far as 'school', we did very little, except I focused on reading skills so they would be able to work independently later on. They are now still young, but can do more independently. My husband is also very good about reminding our sons that they MUST be good to me, or they're going to hear it from him.

Are you a member of a church? Is there someone who would be willing to come over a few times a week for an hour or so, just to give you a rest time?

How old are your children?

I think HSLDA has some information about HS'ing with a chronic illness.

Best wishes! :grouphug: