Menu

MEP Reception or another math suggestion

Amirah

hi i was just wondering about MEP Reception ? could this be done with a 2 1/2 yr old or 3yr old? i know of someone using it for there really young one but am not sure it would be too much or not. any other suggestions for a mathy kinda program for a toddler. i am new to homeschooling so i make be way ahead of myself

You could do some of the MEP Reception activities with a young preschooler but many others require fine motor skills that are more typical of a 4 or 5 y.o.

Personally, I'd wait on MEP Reception and just do informal "hands-on" activities such as those from Family Math for Young Children and Math Play! 80 Ways to Count and Learn.

I have also heard good things about this book for the Cuisenaire rods but I have no personal experience with it.

Funtastic Frogs series is supposed to be good as well, but again I have no personal experience with it.

That's pretty young for a book; I think MEP Reception is for 4-5 years old. How about some ideas from Hubbard's Cupboard preschool curriculum? (Shapes, classifying objects, counting, bigger/smaller, colors, measuring.) You might look at Ruth Beechick's book (The 3 R's I believe). The book Family Math has some suggestions for little ones too. Also check out Living Math.

I would recommend the concepts of math in real life / with real objects. Ya'know: which of these cups do you think holds more? Uncle Joe is coming for dinner, how many plates do we need to set out? How many pieces should we divide the pie into? There are 6 cookies and 3 people, how many do we each get? Sort things by size, color, shape, - let the child sort then tell you how they did it. Order things (cups, toys, etc) by size, weight, shape.

Amy