Menu

Washing all the clothes by hand

I'm asking about this on the small chance that someone here has experience with this. It looks like we might not have a washing machine for the next year, but I have absolutely no experience with extensive hand washing. I'm looking at a contraption like this to make things easier and trying to figure out a good system for wringing, because that sounds like the worst part of all.

If we don't have a washing machine, my only other choice besides handwashing at home is to hire someone to handwash them for me and that's probably not an option for us. We will be living in a place with no laundromats of any sort. I'm obviously looking into how women there do their laundry, but I'm freely admitting that I'm lazy and want something to help me out if anyone has any suggestions.

Step one is to put any denim or other such heavy fabrics away somewhere no one will find to wear them.

I've no experience with the cool gadget, sorry. It kinda looks to small to be worth the trouble.

Rosie

:iagree::iagree: Definitely hide the denims. lol I agree that that machine looks really small. I don't have super extensive experience hand washing laundry but I have some. Where I live is part of "hurricane alley" and so I've had to do my fair share of hand washing all of our laundry when the power has been out for weeks at a time. For me, I just use a big tub with a washboard that I bought at Ace Hardware years ago. I use bar soaps that are specifically for laundry like Octagon or Fels Naptha (Octagon is better though) and just wet the clothes, soap them up and then scrub them on the wash board. Once all the clothes are washed. I rinse out the tub and fill it with water and start rinsing them out. Once all the soap is out, I wring them by hand and line dry them.