Menu

Letter of recommendation - advice

regentrude

I am a college instructor and have been asked to write a letter of recommendation for a high school student who is taking my class for dual enrollment and is applying to colleges. I have never been involved in a college application process before.

How does Common Application work - will I upload one letter for all schools, or are they contacting me individually? No paper letters, right?

Anything in particular admissions officials are looking for? (it sounds like a stupid question coming form a college instructor, but please bear in mind that professors have nothing to do with the admissions procedure and that the skills WE want to see in the students may not necessarily be what gets them in.)

Anything YOU think was important about your child's LOR?

Thanks for all pointers.

With the Common App, if the student has asked you for an LOR (letter of recomendation) to be submitted electronically, you should receive an email from the Common App with info on how to log into their system. Once in, you will be able to upload your letter and complete the associated form. Make sure you submit it when you're done.

With the electronic submissions on Common App, your letter will go to all the schools that the student has specified you as an LOR writer. You won't know how many schools that is, so your letter should not mention a specific college (unless the student directs you to).

When my son applied 2 years ago, he had some problems getting the Common App to send the email to the LOR writer. Their system didn't like comcast email addresses back then. Hopefully, they've fixed that issue. If the student has told you to submit the letter electronically and you haven't received the email from Common App with the log in info, contact the student right away so he/she can work out any issues with Common App.