Menu

A Poll for Ebook Readers

How likely would you be to purchase an ebook by a new author for $2.99?  

1. 1. How likely would you be to purchase an ebook by a new author for $2.99?

• Yes! I love ebooks and am always looking for something new to download.
    • Maybe. I read ebooks, but am more selective in my purchasing choices.
    • No. I prefer to only purchase ebooks by my favorite authors.

I have written a book that is currently in editing. Since this is my first attempt at writing, I was kicking around the idea of self-publishing it (and the two followup books) on Amazon in Kindle format for $2.99. My reasoning is so that I can maybe work on generating an online presence. My ultimate goal if I decide to go this route would be to finish this 3-book series, get some writing practice under my belt, and then submit bigger and better, more polished story ideas to a traditional publishing house for my 4th and 5th books. (Yes, I have the ideas already, but want to finish this series first.)

My question now is how likely would you be to purchase a book by an unknown person if you ran across it for $2.99 on the Amazon Kindle page?

If the genre were something I was interested in, and the summary sounded good, I would probably buy it. I can tell you that I'd me more likely to buy an unknown than a well known for 14.99.

I've actually discovered some good authors in my quest for cheap books. in principle, since there are almost no time nor materials involved, I will NOT spend more than $10 on an e-format book. And I'd prefer to keep it under $7. Yeah, I'm cheap!

I would suggest making it free. I am discovering a lot of new authors from the top 100 free page. (They don't stay free forever.) If I like an author enough, then purchasing it at a very low price would be my next step. Once you have me hooked, I'd pay full price!:D

Make sure you let me know what and when you publish so that I can download it!!!