Menu

Need some encouragement

I feel bored. Very bored. I feel I lead a life of isolation in a vacuum. I long for interaction with people that is mentally stimulating. I have a weekly women's Bible study, and two co-op meetings a month, and Sunday church. I miss seeing people of other categories and I feel I don't see men at all except at church.

I just miss the academic environment I used to be in in China. I was a professor of English to medical students in graduate school or adults seeking to improve their English speaking and listening skills. I miss the work environment and certainly the money that goes with it, too.

I saw Christmas party pictures of my former adult student with her colleagues who is now a dentist in Boston. I suddenly felt very envious. Of course coming here from China she had to go to medical school again to get her qualifications up to work here, which involved living in another city for school and only going home to her hubby and baby girl on the weekend. That part I certainly don't envy. Sorry for the vent. This is the first time I feel very bored with my life. Homeschooling is going very well by the way. But I just don't feel very cheerful at this moment.

Maybe you could find a way to use your skills teaching English locally? Our church in Dallas was desperate for people to help with their FriendSpeak program to teach conversational English to (mostly) Chinese foriegn exchange students at the college level. Maybe there's a similar program where you are?

I hear you. When I was pregnant with dd, I went from taking advanced undergrad and graduate-level classes at a great university in a diverse city with amazing arts and culture opportunities to being a sahm in a small rural town. I think I was in shock for about six months, and then for another six I almost went out of my mind with boredom.