Menu

What is your biggest challenge in teaching your bright children?

TKDmom

And how have you dealt with them?

I'm not even sure I can pinpoint what my biggest challenge with my dd is. But it rears its ugly head when we are trying to do math. Her interests lie in the direction of art, music, and language. When I try to do math with her she becomes stubborn, perfectionistic ("I'm not good at this and I hate it and I'm never going to do it again!!"), and easily distracted. :banghead:

It's almost surreal for me. We're so similar personality-wise. I can always pinpoint her motivations for her odd behaviors, because she's so similar to me. But I always loved math. I did math workbooks and logic puzzles for fun. I can't figure out where this part of her came from....

I'm still feeling around in the dark trying to figure out how to deal with the perfectionism and stubbornness during our day. From both of us. ;) We butt heads way too often.

I modify what I'm doing or how I'm doing it. I find that what works best many times is letting my dc have some say in what we use for each subject. That doesn't mean that they get do choose anything they want from the vast array of choices, however.

My artistic eldest vehemently loathed arithmetic with a passion, regardless of what she used and she is gifted in math. She insisted on teaching herself, which I allowed, but it was often a fight to get her to do math. I had her do little review, since she had a mind like a stainless steel trap for all things arithmetic At 15 she is planning to major in math or genetics/biochem. The turn around started with Algebra 1, particularly when I had her redo it at 13 with a text she chose from my choices. She loved Geometry and is eager to get to Calculus. Sure, she could have been here sooner, since she was ready for Algebra by 11 (probably could have been sooner if she hadn't hated it so much!) but she's doing it now when she likes it.