Menu

Do you feel freer renting than owning?

I'd rather own. We've been in this rental for a year, and will be here for another year before we will be able to move again and buy a home. I. can't. wait. I hate being restricted in what I can do to my house. It may have been better if I actually LIKED this house..lol.

Having done both, I'd much, much rather own.

I never did. I was only 24 when we bought our first house, but even before that being a renter always made me feel kind of vulnerable and insecure. I think a lot of it has to do with having animals. I very nearly couldn't move to be close to my then boyfriend, now husband the year after I graduated college (he had another year to go, in an out of state college) because it was so hard to find somewhere I could take my dog. When we moved to Boston after he graduated, we went to a realtor and took the ONE listing she had that was pet-friendly. Might also have to do with my childhood...I lived in one house (a house my Dad built himself) until my parents got divorced when I was 10, and after that we bounced from rental house to rental house for years. So I think I probably tend to associate renting with instability and, umm, emotional trauma? That might be overstating it a bit, but something like that.