Menu

What is the point of sentence patterns?

Samiam

My DS12 is doing Analytical Grammar. There are several lessons on Sentence Pattern #1, #2, #3, #4, #5..........really?????

I couldn't even tell you what those are at the moment, I would have to go back and re-read the lesson (even though we go over the lesson together).

This is our fourth grammar program we have done since 1st grade (used the same publisher for a few years, and then switched, did this a couple of times). I don't remember seeing this Sentence pattern stuff in any other program.

I like grammar. DS12 never complains, he is a pattern type guy, and grammar is all about patterns.

I have a college degree. I love to read. I can write rather well.

So what is the point of learning sentence patterns?!?!! AG is really over-killing it, IMHO, and it is completely boring.

Will I be failing my child if we skip these lessons?? I managed to succeed in life and have never known this information.

I think that a very few people might find this stuff useful, and another small group might find it interesting or enjoyable, but for the vast majority it's simply something you do so you can think that you and your child are superior to the people who haven't learnt it.

[Ducks for cover]

Guest Cheryl in SoCal

I don't know about other grammar curricula but Shurley English uses sentence patterns. We found them helpful because you can see how the sentence is organized. For us remembering the number of the pattern wasn't as important as being able to see the pattern. The patterns are introduced much more gradually in Shurley (over many years) than in AG. I really enjoyed Shurley (we used Levels 3 - 7) and wanted continue grammar (Shurley ends at Level 7) so we tried AG this year. My boys HATE it (especially the diagramming but also say it's boring) so we have quit and will be switching to MCT's Magic Lens 1 as soon as it's revised.