Menu

Faber's Piano Adventures -- thoughts?

We are getting a piano for Christmas and I'm so excited to start my girls with lessons. I am a fairly decent pianist and I think I should be able to teach them for a year or two without running into problems. I went through the John Thompson series as a kid (from Teaching Little Fingers to Play to the Grade 5 book), so I only know that series... but I know there's a lot more available now. For them, I'm looking at the Piano Adventures series.

Here are my questions:

It looks like they have the regular series for ages 7-9, the accelerated version for ages 10+ and the younger series for ages 5-6. Should both my girls learn from the same book? I have a pretty immature 6.5 yr old and a weirdly mature 8.5 yr old. I doubt either are blessed with prodigious musical talent, but I'm sure they'd do okay.

Should I get all the components of the level (lesson/performance/theory/technique)?

What are the "Pre-time to Big-time" books about? I'm assuming they're additional pieces to play? Are they leveled within each book? Are they worth getting?

About how long should I expect each lesson to be?

Thanks!

I am also a pianist and doing Faber with dd8. We started last year. I would get the same books for both girls to start. If your 6yo is too immature, you could either wait a year or get the book for younger children (don't remember the name off the top of my head).

We use the lesson, theory and technique books. I also buy hymnbooks and Christmas books for dd at her level, which she enjoys.

You would have to gauge your lessons and assignments to your girls' attention spans. I try to assign enough work that dd will have 15 to 20 minutes of practice a day. We can usually review a lesson in 30 minutes.

Hope your lessons go well!

Take care,

Suzanne