Menu

What is a Program That Made Your Eyes Glaze Over?

OregonNative

Classical Writing. I wanted to like it. I really did. But, I just didn't, for long.

I can see this! We only do CW every other week. On the off week we do a CHC grammar book. I think if we were doing it every week I would really dislike the program. But breaking it up with a nice, easy grammar book seems to help a lot.

Yep, LLATL and Writing Strands. Both were epic fails.

The Latin stuff from Memoria Press also...I'm a Latin teacher (i.e., I really enjoy Latin), and all the materials practically made my eyes roll back in my head. My son actually cried when I told him he had to listen to the CD - offered to do extra work in return for not having to listen to her.

Saxon!! oh my gosh, we burned the books and the relief that flooded my very soul! I still see those yellow books elsewhere and my eyes glaze over and I think I have a visible twitch....;)

and I could just slap a big ol' wet kiss on those that say writing strands?

I keep trying, and for some reason can't get from day 2 to the last day?

I think it may become fodder for a fire soon!!???

but, I struggled with implementing SoTW3? yeah, I admit it!! It was a pass down to us from another homeschooler, and I was lost and didn't get it? Because it was so unlike what I had learned in PS history? where were the memorization, the dry, tedious things I had learned?

We tried again with SotW 1, and my children and I now enjoy History. I am glad I persevered! :tongue_smilie:

I am ashamed to admit this on a Classical Ed board, but....any latin program has made me feel like a failure. I just cannot wrap my brain around learning it and believe me, I have tried two programs and it just isn't working.