Menu

Gluten-free holidays...?

My husband was recently diagnosed with food allergies including all gluten-containing grains. For the most part we just skip baked goods now, but with the holidays coming up I know he's a little bummed about missing out on all our usual food-related traditions.

I have allergies myself and I'm a pretty experienced cook, but baking without gluten grains is new to me and I can't seem to get any decent results. I also can't rely on store-bought mixes etc because they're all full of CORN, which we're ALL allergic to. :glare:

Any tips from the more experienced gluten-free folks? We're fine with eggs and dairy.

If I could even manage to figure out something for a pie crust and some decent cookies, that would be AWESOME.

Thanks in advance!

Oh, that is tricky without the corn! I can't have wheat, but do use corn in lots of things. I make a pumpkin custard in place of pumpkin pie, glazed pecans instead of pecan pie, apple crisp with oat topping in place of apple pie, and I know a gf family that uses the gf version of rice krispies plus lots of fun sprinkles to make holiday treats in place of cookies.

I just asked a friend about pie crust yesterday and this is her response: