Menu

I have dropped the ball :(

Dd12's school load is so light she might as well be doing 4th grade. Advice would say it's a simple matter to toss some programs together and call it a day, but I just have rotten luck with programs that are not scheduled out. It's not a lack of experience because I've been homeschooling for 10 years now!

Here is her schedule:

Homeschool classes: biology and literature that meet for 1 hour per week. There is homework but it is slight to say the least. This is her 2nd year with these classes, and this has been the only time we've ever gotten Science done consistently.

Math-U-See Algebra that takes her 30 mins. a day.

Today I ordered Keystone 8th grade English. It should really bump up her Lang. Arts.

And that's it! I wish I could get her some other Keystone classes because at least we actually do the work but they are too expensive to order anything else at this time. (It's time to pay for my next college semester. Ouch!)

Seriously, if you were in my position what would you do? She's very smart and most of the programs we've tried are just so easy that we get bored and stop doing it. Some days I really hate homeschooling because I feel like she should be doing so much more, but I'm just not good at finding and implementing appropriate materials for her.

I guess this is more of a vent. Today is a bad day and I feel like kicking myself.

:grouphug:

Think about it this way, at least you are getting some of the most important stuff done.

Sometimes, you need to take a little break.

Once you let yourself calm down a bit, stop kicking yourself and see what your goals really are and how to get there. Look up the requirements for each grade in your state. Look at the World Book grade guidelines. Then apply your own goals to them. I am sure she will be way ahead on some things. Other things are silly.

Maybe you can add some history reading, or an interest based study.