Menu

Knitters, noob here with a question

When it comes to knitting I am a total noob. I have knitted exactly 3 hats and 3 scarfs. I have decided I want to try to make a lap afgan to sit and watch tv with. I have found a nice easy pattern that I like but one thing I cannot understand. Why does it call for knitting on round needles instead of straight needles? Here is the link to the pattern, any help would be great. This is the one problem with teaching yourself via Youtube, you cannot ask questions.

Thanks Hive

http://craftyknitting.blogspot.com/

Is it a tube scarf of some kind? Are you knitting length wise rather than width and dealing with a TON of stitches? I knit on cicular needles all the time because I find them easier to use. When I put my project down, I'm not going to worry about dropping stitches since I just slide everything to the middle. As a new knitter, check out ravelry.com FANTASTIC site!

To think about buying yourself (or asking Santa) for a great set of circular needles with interchangeable needles and cords. Knitpicks has a set by Harmony for under $100. I know that seems like a lot, but it's so nice to have a full set of different sizes for all the things you might need.

This would be better to knit on a set of circular needs, but you aren't knitting (obviously) "in the round." It's just that when you have the flexible cord to hold all the stitches, it's much easier to work a big blanket like that.

Good luck!

When you have a large project, like an afghan, a circular can allow you to fit more stitches. You'd have to use one with a long cable, of course. But a straight can only fit so many stitches, so you'd have to do your blanket in panels and seam them together.

The other advantage to circs is that the cable carries the weight of your project, not the needles, which makes a larger project easier to manage.

Cinder