Menu

I just can't learn get the hang of Spanish.

Spanish has become one of my worst subjects. I barely understand the language, and I am really stuck now. I am a sophomore that would love to learn another language along with spanish, but if I can't learn spanish, how can I even learn another language?

Rosetta Stone hasn't helped me at all, I am just about to chuck the program, it is so confusing!! I like the fact that they use the pictures to identify the words they are saying, that is the easy part. But I can't write in Spanish, read spanish or anything else really.

Does anyone know of any other program that goes step by step, explains everything, and teaches you everything about Spanish?

I am so confused!:confused:

Guest Cheryl in SoCal

Is Spanish the first foreign language you've studied? Have you tried augmenting RS with a workbook? Is it possible for you to find a tutor or someone who speaks Spanish to help you?

It is VERY hard to learn a foreign language without a teacher (who also speaks that language!).

Have you looked at finding a local tutor? (many times you can barter child care...)

Is community college an option for you next year? My daughter tried a few programs at home (I do not speak Spanish and this is what she wanted to learn)--but she just could not do them independently. She took Spanish 1 at the local CC last spring and is taking Spanish 2 this fall. She is finally learning something!

You will NOT be fluent with a few years of "book learned" (high school) Spanish... The only way to become fluent is to speak frequently (interact) with another speaker of that language!

Spanish has become one of my worst subjects. I barely understand the language, and I am really stuck now. I am a sophomore that would love to learn another language along with spanish, but if I can't learn spanish, how can I even learn another language?