Menu

DD has iron deficiency but no red blood cell problem

I have no experience at all with iron deficiency but know it is fairly common so I have some questions for the Hive. My dd, who is suffering from low blood pressure and near fainting, has just had a test result come back that she is iron deficient. Now she had previous tests where her Red Blood Count came up in a good range so I don't quite understand. How is her RBC normal but her iron low? She does not have heavy periods, and does eat red meat almost every day. She will be seeing her cardiologist on Monday and he says he will prescribe iron pills then. Just one more pill for the poor girl to take. She is already taking two medicines for ADHD, one medicine for both headaches and PMDD, one for the salt problem part of her Low blood pressure, and now iron.

Don't know why, though I like ktgrok's explanation. I can say, though, that both my ds and I live with the same scenario. My ds has had many, many tests trying to determine why he is anemic, and we cannot find a reason. We have had to accept that both he and I struggle with chronic anemia for unknown reasons, so we supplement.

If her count is normal, but she's anemic, then there is a problem with her red blood cells, they just haven't told you what it is.

How is her RBC normal but her iron low?
Here's a list of test names relevant to red blood cells.

Do you know which were normal and which were abnormal?

Red blood cell count

Hemoglobin

Hematocrit

MCV

MCH

MCHC

RDW

The second 3 values are calculated using the first 3. Knowing which numbers are abnormal gives clues to the type of anemia you're dealing with.

I would also be checking to see if anemia is a possible side effect of one of her other meds.

For example, iron deficiency anemia would present with low MCV (a measure of red blood cell volume) and/or low MCH (a measure of hemoglobin per cell).

Vitamin B12 deficiency anemia, on the other hand, causes elevated MCV.

Edited by jplain