Menu

Poll: Do you know how to make a white sauce?

Do you know how to make a white sauce?  

1. 1. Do you know how to make a white sauce?

• No, I don't know how.
    • No, I don't know how and I can't cook anyway.
    • Yes, I can do it with a recipe.
    • Yes, I can it without a recipe.
    • Yes, I can do it with my eyes closed I do it so often.
    • Yes, because even tho' I've never done it before, I can do anything I put my mind to!
    • Other

I got to thinkin'.

A few years ago, in my hometown newspaper, the cooking editor wrote that her young neighbor (woman in mid 20s) needed to borrow a can of cream of mushroom soup. The editor did not have one but she had ingredients for a white sauce and fresh mushrooms. Editor offered to show neighbor how to make one in the time it would take her to drive to the store to get the cr. of mushroom soup.

Neighbor declined. Editor said it because neighbor wasn't sure it would work in her recipe (a casserole of some sort.) Editor assured her it would work but neighbor still said no thanks.

Soooooo...

Congrats to LauraGB with the superfast fingers!

She responded before I did!

:lol:

:lol: I saw the post before the poll showed up and I almost couldn't wait! :lol:

We like a lot of creamy dishes - in fact, my scalloped potatoes are baking as we speak in a homemade cream of mushroom soup. Mmmmmm...

:lol: I saw the post before the poll showed up and I almost couldn't wait! :lol:

We like a lot of creamy dishes - in fact, my scalloped potatoes are baking as we speak in a homemade cream of mushroom soup. Mmmmmm...

That is funny!

My mom was famous for her scalloped potatoes! I hated them as a child. If she was around, I'd eat those babies today so fast it'd make your head spin!

Yours sound delish.

Yes, I can. When shopping at my grocery store and at the deli dept, one of the workers is also a part-time chef and he told me how to do it.

How nice of him!