Menu

anyone use Makuna honey for medicinal purposes?

I've been asking my food co-op to try to get Manuka for a couple of years now. There are some studies that indicate it is more anti-bacterial, fungal, etc. than other honeys. It has been shown to have success with various "flesh eating" bacterias and having sports-involved kids, I'd like to know I could get it quickly if I felt I needed it....

As I understand it, it is now gaining a wider range of usage for its healing properties. It's only made in New Zealand (and maybe Australia), so it's taking some time for it to catch on here..... I think it is going to be one of those all purpose items for the medicine cabinet much like apple cider vinegar....

I'd like to know I could get it quickly if I felt I needed it....

Regena, I bought this one today at Whole Foods - so far it's the only one I've found locally with a high enough UMF #. I found a couple with UMF 5+ at another vitamin store, but I read that under 10 is only useful as table honey.

http://www.amazon.com/Raw-Manuka-Honey-Active-15/dp/B001GI18CE/ref=sr_1_15?ie=UTF8&qid=1289169110&sr=8-15 (price was very similar at Whole Foods; with 6 germy kids I'm thinking of stocking up on more, if it does anything helpful)

Yes. For IBS-C.

Hmmm, thanks for pointing me in the direction of constipation! I didn't know that was one of the uses (one of my kids has chronic constipation, long story, which we currently are treating with a combination of probiotics and magnesium citrate).