Menu

New to HS-8th grade

momtobpkid

Ok, my son has been in a public virtual school up until this upcoming Jan bc we are moving and starting a military adventure. I have no experience with traditional homeschooling, just the curriculum that they have at Connections Academy. My son is in 8th grade, but at 6th grade math. He has many executive functioning deficits, a diagnosis of Bipolar and ADHD, hates to write, needs something fun, but it has to be something I can step back from. I am incredibly busy as it is, I am a full time student myself and CA is not really working very well anymore since he is refusing to write, especially with math! He thinks he knows it all and can do it in his head! I feel like everything about this kid is so complicated. I need to finish out 8th grade with him since we are being dropped when we move and then figure out something for high school. He needs consistancy and loves technology. I was thinking about using Bridgeway Homeschool Academy for 2nd semester since they apparently have all these curriculum options and customizations. Now I am kind of at a doubt bc I am seeing Teaching Textbooks and thinking wow, that would really teach him his math. I was also looking at mathathlitics? I NEED help! Any suggestions would be great. I am going nuts bc we are going to be gone all of Dec and moving in Jan so I need a plan! Thanks!

we started with 2 4th graders and 1 6th grader (now 6th and 8th) and it has been a joy. I never used an all-in-curriculum but started with literature-based Sonlight for history and reading and built from there with many of the suggestions from this board like Mammoth Math, MCT, IEW and more.