Menu

just started and already lost my way

Hi, I'm new to hsing 4 (K, 1st-special needs, 5th and 6th). My oldest 2 spent 4 and 5 years in private school and rec'd an excellent education there. I thought I knew why I was doing this, but I can't come up w/ an answer. I feel completely ill-equipped and unable to provide them w/ the education & challenge they need. I feel like I took them out of something better than what they can have at home. I have not figured out the practical part of hsing yet - it is going very poorly, but it bothers me even more that I don't feel I have a purpose in doing it. How do I stop the downward spiral of self-doubt, guilt, and anxiety? Thanks to anyone that reads this.

Howdy, Ange. :seeya: We just got home from co-op, so kids are exhausted and I'm chillin'. :001_smile:

Have you read The Well-Trained Mind?

You're looking for reasons to homeschool? What were your original reasons for pulling your kids out of private school?

The first year of homeschooling is usually a disaster. :glare: The second year is much, much better (well, it was for us). Also, don't try to recreate public school (or private school) at home. You only have 4 students, so you are going to have a lot more freedom than a classroom teacher would have.

Have you read about the different kinds of homeschooling? Classical, Unit Studies, Charlotte Mason, Traditional, Waldorf, etc?

Another good book for starting out is Cathy Duffy's Top 100 Curriculum Picks. I like this curriculum also: www.oakmeadow.com And here: http://www.coreknowledge.org/

Also - look for co-ops and homeschool groups. Is there a homeschool support group in your area? A lot of homeschool groups have Park Day, where the kids get together and play for a couple of hours. Our homeschool group also has field trips.

Edited by starrbuck12