Menu

My thoughts on ETC...

Jennefer@SSA

I have been using ETC for over 5 years now and with all three boys. It has been a wonderful curriculum for us and it has taught my oldest two to read and #3 is well on his way (He read his first sentence this week!!!) But the journey has not been without lessons. I put my thoughts in a blog post. I thought I would share in case another family is starting out using this resource. I hope it helps someone else. You may want to skip the first part that talks about how I used it and jump to the Lessons Learned part at the towards the bottom of the post.

If you are an ETC user and you notice anything I forgot, please share! :)

Thoughts on Explode the Code

We are just starting with ETC. One of my twin sons can read (mostly self-taught) and I'm using it to plug holes in his phonics knowledge. The other is still learning, so it's his first really formal program. While I see it working with my son who is still learning, it's brilliant with my son who can already read. He flies through it, but he's getting a lot out of it and the fact that there's so much writing is a plus since it slows him down and gives him a reason to pause and think. It's almost a spelling program for him and I see it really improving his writing - slowly but surely. I think I like it for this reinforcement of skills better than as an introduction to skills.

With my son who is still learning, I totally agree about needing to sit with him and make him read every word. If I don't, he just gets lost anyway.

Thank you for sharing this. I have found much of what you said to be true. My youngest son, 7 and in the 1st quarter of 2nd grade, is starting ETC book 6. He does 3 pages a day (4 days a week) and also does the lessons online once a week. He has learned so much with ETC and he loves it. He learned to read using ETC and I honestly think his writing is what it is today because of ETC. :) We love it!