Menu

What creative outlets do you have, even if you aren't "good" at them?

I visited a nursing home this week and I've been mulling over something that several of the older ladies said to me independently. They said that when they were young they never did ___ (whatever the creative activity was) because they weren't very good at it or they didn't think they would be good at it. When they were young, you didn't do something at all unless you did it really well. They were visibly saddened by that. They obviously felt they had missed something valuable in their lives.

So, I've resolved to go ahead and do creative things, even though I'm not good at them (or think I'm not). It's time for this recovering perfectionist to recover a little more. Maybe gardening - I love flowers, and I enjoy arranging them, but I've never grown my own. Any tips would be appreciated!

What are the creative outlets that you enjoy, regardless of how "good" you are at them?

I sing............publicly! Fortunately I go to a church that is just desperate enough to want me to. So, I sing on Praise Team and have even done solos.........scary business, but I'm so glad I am doing it.

Gardening............I suck at this! I kill almost everything I plant, but occassionally a hardy soul (roots, whatever) will come along and actually grow..........it gives me such satisfaction

I jump on the bed, wrestle on the floor, I have belching contests.........all in the name of "I'm not too old"............and I'll keep doing it until I can't!

cooking (I actually like researching new recipes and trying things out).

knitting - I'm learning to knit along with my two dc

singing - I'm singing again after not singing publicly for 15 years. The elderly at the assisted living home we minister at are so encouraging!

gardening - ok, right now it is more like hacking out a spot in the wilderness, but eventually it will get to the fun stuff, right?!