Menu

Goal-setting?

How do you go about setting goals and objectives for your accelerated learners? I've had difficulty writing out goals my whole life, and Becca throws another curve in that. I can't just copy out the K objectives in a book, but I don't know how far she'll go with first grade learning.

I'm not required to submit any evaluations or testing, just a curriculum list and grades to my umbrella school. So there's no one "outside" who will be evaluating her anytime soon. As I'm new to hs and she's still so young, I'm sort of letting her determine the pace. I have first grade plans, but I also know that she doesn't have to finish it all in one year.

Am I making any sense at all? :001_huh: Got any help? Thanks everyone!

exactly what I planned to cover with my then 4yo starting K. Well, that was 8 years ago and I no longer bother to set specific yearly goals.

Now I set general goals like in history we will cover the medieval period and in science we will cover earth and space science. In math, I expect the kids to at east finish one grade level though they always finish at least 1.5/year.

I do set weekly/monthly goals depending on the kid and what subject and how they are advancing. Shorter term goals are easier to manage and I keep in mind where we are headed by having thorough knowledge of what is expected year by year in their learning. That first year, I found all my hard work to be an utter waste of time because he had met the goals within the first few months. I wasn't going to call it a year because he had completed a years worth of school and met all my goals in 4-5 months.