Menu

I have a dilemma and need The Hive's help

DS (5) takes enrichment classes. One of these classes (meets once a week for an hour) is a geography class in which he is supposed to learn the states. He is coming home having been introduced to 3 states each week. He has homework (2-3 pages per state) that must be done. On these homework sheets are questions regarding the state bird, state beverage, state insect, etc. - questions that I consider trivia. I am the one sitting at the computer looking up the questions - not quite ready for a 5 year old to be googling all over the place.

Last night, all the parents received an email from this geography teacher stating that the children do not know the information and that we, as parents, need to take a more active part in reviewing all the information. I do not mind drilling information on states with DS, but am I off base when I am thinking this is mindless trivia? I am a retired teacher and DH is a teacher. We are not getting a good feeling about this class or the requirements.

What does the Hive think? Appropriate content and amount of material to be learned for 1st and 2nd graders? Or are we just being overly critical and should just tell DS to suck it up and learn the material?

Thanks for your advice.

Many kids enjoy learning this type of trivia; others don't. I don't see it as a question of whether or not it's WORTH learning, but whether or not YOU and ds find it worth learning.

Lots of variables here: cost of class, accurate description or not of class ahead of time, does ds enjoy learning the info, what happens if he continues class without memorizing it, etc.

If the class description simply said, "Students will learn about the states in a fun way!" or similar, then I don't know that I would expect the teacher to change the lesson plans. Learning the state flags and so on is a very common project for young kids; it's what I would likely expect unless the description stated differently.