Menu

Geology for 7yo

Violet Crown

I need a good geology study for my 7-year-old who is gung-ho about learning to identify rocks and minerals. I'm getting a little tired of identifying the local rocks (limestone, quartz, and endless oyster fossils), and she wants more challenge. Unfortunately I have zero expertise in this area. She reads extremely well and has a good memory. Something involving a little chemistry would be great.

My 7 yo, also an advanced reader, has been obsessed with rocks and minerals since he was four. We haven't found a great curriculum. He's basically self taught himself through EyeWitness Rocks and Minerals. His all time favorite book is "Geology Rocks" by Cindy Blobaum. The reading isn't difficult, but there are some really neat experiments and its fun reading.

At our local science museum, we bought an Usborne set of rock identification cards because we found finding books on rock identification pretty difficult. We also bought a huge tackle box to sort his rock collection. If you want to get samples outside your local area, there are collections you can buy at science stores. My parents bring him rock samples back from all their travels--some purchased at museum stores, some they find laying around.

You should also check out Janice VanCleave's Earth Science or Rocks and Minerals books. I haven't looked at them, but we are using her Astronomy and Constellations books and find them very informative with lots of experiments.

Okay, I know that they are expensive. I haven't found them anywhere else, either. How about this free, online program (which you can print out if you don't want to do it online)?

http://msnucleus.org/membership/html/k-6/rc/index.html

They do offer kits for some of their labs; others use things you can obtain easily. You could buy a good, larger rock set from Home Science Tools (which someone already linked) instead of buying their sets and perhaps get a better deal....