Menu

Annoying experience with local HS group

Ove the summer an email was sent out by a local HS group looking for volunteers for a 'Field Trip Committee'. I offered to help.

A few months go by with no word about it. Then, over the weekend I received an email from someone on the committee. The gist of the message was:

• here is a list of who is on the committee,
  • we are trying to coordinate a meeting for this committee,
  • here is a list of dates and times that work for everyone else,
  • do any of these work for you?

I explained that I am a full-time student and am in class half a day, every day Monday thru Thursday. Between my classes, homeschooling, and the kids' activities, Monday thru Thursday are just busy, busy, busy for us. I am available any Friday or Saturday, any time. I even offered my home as a possible meeting location.

So last night I get a call from someone on this committee saying that nobody really wants to meet on a Friday because people like to have their Friday's open. She asked if I'd be willing to skip class one day so that they could have the meeting at a more convenient time for everyone else.

I said no, that I couldn't skip one of my classes to attend the meeting. Then she asked if I could do a meeting after 8 p.m. one night during the week (I can't, my dh just returned from deployment and he begins night classes next week). She said that they will probably have the meeting without me then and I should just think up some ideas an email them to her.

Just :glare: :001_huh: :glare:

I can understand your frustration, but honestly, it sounds like she did her best to accomodate your schedule. From experience, I know as a leader of a group, it's hard to find times that work for everyone and sometimes you just have to take the majority and run with it. Everyone is so busy that it's almost impossible to find times that will suit everyone's schedule.