Menu

Rod & Staff Grade 1

We finished doing ABC Reading Eggs and we're now planning to start my 4 yr old daughter on Phonics Pathways and Reading Pathways (we're not homeschoolers...). I feel that she needs to read real books and I was hoping that the Rod and Staff books might help her continue her reading practice.

Has anyone tried Rod & Staff Bible Nurture Grade 1 series? Does it provide good phonics practice?

I'm concerned by what is written on the site: "It would assume a child would be about 6 years of age to begin the first grade program". My daughter is not a typical 6 year old, but she has developed enough reading skills to read the "Early reader books" from our library.

Also, what are your thoughts on their maths program?

Hi Engu! Welcome (I see you are a new poster...)

You might want to re-post this question over on the curriculum board. I know you'll get tons of great answers!

DD6 learned to read using Phonics Pathways. I have no experience with Rod & Staff, but PP has been adequate for the basics. I have Reading Pathways waiting, but haven't started using it yet.

Although many people have used the first grade Bible Nurture and Reader materials and liked them, *I* did not. If you use everything, there is a significant sight-reading element--a couple of hundred words and phrases to memorize--that I just don't care for. The *phonics* portion is true phonics; it's the *reading* that is sight reading.

I would not recommend using it with a child younger than 6. If you think your dd is ready for additional instruction after Phonics Pathways, you could check out Spalding.

The reason that R&S recommends 6 yrs. old is that is when the Mennonites begin school. Their children begin school in first grade. They do not have kindergarten really.

There is a first grade readiness test that they sell that should tell you whether your child is ready to begin. It is not very expensive at all and can be found on rodandstaffbooks.com.