Menu

Do ALL homeschooling moms tweak curriculum?!

CarrieF

I'm in my 4th year of homeschooling and feel that I have yet to "hit my stride" with curriculum. The ONLY things that are working are Sonlight for reading/history/Bible and Horizons for math - otherwise I feel like I am always changing something up. Maybe that is what being a homeschooler is all about: modifying, tweaking, supplementing?! Any veterans have advice for the "still feeling like a newbie" mom?! :001_huh:

Thank you in advance!

I think there's a few out there who just do it as written. But my guess is most of us tweak. I'd love to just do as written and I tried this year, but then I get bored. But this year I wouldn't say I hit my stride, but am relatively happy with what we're using. There are things that are getting redundant, but if I change an element, sometimes I have to change other elements because the original ones no longer fit well together. Then it starts this huge change.

I'm still looking. I'm about 70% happy. I'm looking for a little more. Hard to please I guess.

Edited by alilac

I don't think this is unique to homeschoolers - I think all teachers tweak their curriculum some. We all want what is bet for our kids, so we change things so they work the best for the kids we are teaching.

:iagree: From my experience, all home schooling parents, and teachers in the public and private schools, tweak their materials. Either out of care for the student, and/or to match their teaching style.

In the HS group I am a part of, there are only a few of us who really "tweak" our curriculum. I would say that definitely the majority get their stuff & just do it almost exactly as it is written (within the bounds of life which can throw you a curve when you are trying to do things on a schedule).

Guest TheBugsMom

16 yrs of tweaking