Menu

negative numbers

Ember58

DD (13) has struggled with maths since starting high school 2 years ago (we are in the uk). She has visual processing difficulties and recently diagnosed with ADHD but generally keeps up academically (and sometimes does very well). Since starting on concerta and a very low dose of risperidone, her general learning, including maths, has come on in leaps and bounds. Last year (before the meds), she really could not 'get' negative numbers - we tried using vertical and horizontal number lines as well as good old fasion maths 'rules'. This term (semester?) they are learning algebra and she is , for once, really getting it and even enjoying it BUT the lack of understanding with negative numbers is really holding her up she really doesn't get that -4 + 12 is 8 and that is the same as 12 - 4...I'm stumped (and I'm a maths teacher!) but really need to do some remediation with her so that she can keep flying through algebra...any ideas?

I am NOT a mathy person, so take this advice with a grain of salt. Could you explain negative numbers in terms of the Celsius temperature scale? This was a very concrete explanation for me, since I could grasp that a negative number was even colder than the temperature at which water freezes. Adding a negative number meant that the temperature was getting colder, adding a positive number meant that the temperature was getting warmer.

I also just want to mention that after a while I didn't need to constantly picture blue and yellow. ;) Well... sorta. :tongue_smilie:

Edited to add:

I guess this was easier for me because I just could not figure what what could be less than nothing. I could, however, figure out colder than 0°.

Edited by yllek