Menu

ADHD - need advice

Pip

For many, many years I have suspected my youngest has ADHD. I tried to ignore it because and work on behavioral issues as I think it is a cop-out for a lot of parents who just don't want to discipline. But, as a former teacher, I know it does exist. My youngest eats a fairly healthy diet, swims over a mile, close to 2, 5 days a week, and still is fidgety, prone to saying whatever is in her brain at a particular time, and immediately regrets it, lies and doesn't know why, can hyper focus. She usually falls asleep immediately at night. One of her teachers in co-op is a child psychiatrist and she says dd definitely has it. She also said don't medicate until it is affecting her moods relationships and she is showing signs of depression. We are there.

She is very smart. The main problem is the boundless energy. She gets in people's faces, climbs all over the place, jumps in place, always needs to be doing somethings. She is just overwhelming to her friends and they are getting uncomfortable around her. But she can focus on building her KNex, knitting and school. But the impulse control and temper are awful. And she told me last night that she feels like she just can't control her energy. She can sit for a church service but afterwards is zooming around the place during fellowship.

I have read some of the posts about the coffee and 5 Hour Energy. I think the possibility of getting a 10 yo to drink black coffee is slim, and, while I hate artificial sweeteners, I am wondering about a sugar free coffee drink or creamer. But would one cup of coffee work all day?