Menu

How would you punctuate this sentence?

scrapbabe

I am editing a book for a friend. Hubby and I don't agree on how to punctuate this sentence. So I am writing it without any punctuation, so you have a clean slate to look at.

Connor dashed around the store collecting them and asking questions like how many what kind and how big

I appreciate your help.

Smiles,

Shalynn

"How many?", "What kind?", and, "How big?".
Double punctuation - the question mark inside the quote and the comma on the outside - is incorrect.

I was a copy editor in my former life and just pulled out my old AP Style Manual, but couldn't find a clear example to cite.

I would be inclined to have the writer redo the entire sentence. I personally don't think it is correct to mix tenses -- "dashed" with "collecting" and "asking."

Or you could get by with the mixed tenses if you offset "dashed around the store."

Ex:

Conner, dashing around the store, collected them and asked: How many? What kind? How big?

Double punctuation - the question mark inside the quote and the comma on the outside - is incorrect.

I was a copy editor in my former life and just pulled out my old AP Style Manual, but couldn't find a clear example to cite.

I would be inclined to have the writer redo the entire sentence. I personally don't think it is correct to mix tenses -- "dashed" with "collecting" and "asking."

Or you could get by with the mixed tenses if you offset "dashed around the store."

Ex:

Conner, dashing around the store, collected them and asked: How many? What kind? How big?

Wow, thank you!

That's how I had it. Thanks for your opinion. What about a semicolon or colon after like, instead of a comma?

NO!!!

Sorry...couldn't help myself. :D