Menu

Latin?

twoxcell

Ok so I had no intention of teaching Latin for at least awhile, but I'm reviewing products for TOS this year, and I was chosen to review Latin's not so tough(by Greek and stuff). My oldest is 7 and in 2nd grade, so I will be using it with him. Can you all explain to me why you teach Latin? In theory I know it helps with root words, but I have no experience with it. If you teach it with young children how many days a week do you teach it?

Ok so I had no intention of teaching Latin for at least awhile, but I'm reviewing products for TOS this year, and I was chosen to review Latin's not so tough(by Greek and stuff). My oldest is 7 and in 2nd grade, so I will be using it with him. Can you all explain to me why you teach Latin? In theory I know it helps with root words, but I have no experience with it. If you teach it with young children how many days a week do you teach it?

I love Latin. No need to have to pronounce it correctly (my weak point with Spanish), it is applicable to roots in the English language, names is science and the cases learned are use in both Spanish and French, so it will help in learning those later.

That said there is no need to rush and do it now. If you have the time, enjoy! If not then you can wait. I wait till 5th grade and start them doing Lively Latin independently. Much easier on me. :D

Heather

My daughter is 8. We do Latin five days a week. We use LC1 and our week goes like this:

Mon.--Watch DVD Lesson

Tues.--Review vocab and listen to cd

Wed.--Review vocab and listen to cd

Thurs.--Complete workbook lesson

Fri.--Games and puzzles from Ludere Latine