Menu

Is it dishonest to omit things from your resume?

As a brief background, dh has been out of work since the beginning of January. I've been tutoring online, but it doesn't pay very much and we really need benefits. I have a PhD, but haven't worked full time in my field for many years (pre-kids). I've been trying for several months to get work in my field, but have had no success.

I'm getting to the point where I'm feeling desperate, and I'm willing to accept almost any job that has benefits. Would it be dishonest to leave the PhD and postdoctoral work off of my resume? I think if I'm applying for administrative or retail positions, the PhD is probably not going to help me and might put off potential employers.

Is this dishonest? Morally wrong? Opinions needed.

As a brief background, dh has been out of work since the beginning of January. I've been tutoring online, but it doesn't pay very much and we really need benefits. I have a PhD, but haven't worked full time in my field for many years (pre-kids). I've been trying for several months to get work in my field, but have had no success.

I'm getting to the point where I'm feeling desperate, and I'm willing to accept almost any job that has benefits. Would it be dishonest to leave the PhD and postdoctoral work off of my resume? I think if I'm applying for administrative or retail positions, the PhD is probably not going to help me and might put off potential employers.

Is this dishonest? Morally wrong? Opinions needed.

I've definitley done that! (1990s recession) I can guarantee you it makes a difference -- I got a lot more callbacks without the master's. And a job, too. (Ironically, years later my boss asked me if I ever considered getting an MBA, at which point I revealed I already had one, haha!)