Menu

kindergarten math (especially MUS users)

mindygz

What should my goals for K math be? MUS users, did you do the Primer with your K-er? My older daughter, we didn't really start math until 1st grade. Would love to hear your experiences/suggestions/ideas. My son is interested in math, and I'd like to keep that interest alive. :D

My oldest did Alpha in K, and we just took our time. He "got" it very quickly though, so what I thought would carry us into 1st grade we actually ended up finishing in the early spring. We then started Beta, but after a few weeks of that a friend told me of Usborn's Sticker Math. My son loved that book, so I just let him do that until the fall of 1st grade, when we picked up Beta again. He finished Beta and Gamma in 1st. I am not good at math, so it is a little frustrating to me to move at his speed, but he is doing great with it and loves math.

With my second boy, I did buy the Primer. I am pretty sure it will take us from now through Christmas, the early lessons are extremely simple. In retrospect, I probably wouldn't have bought Primer and just started him on Alpha after Christmas. However, I am sure he will love having his own book and using the blocks just like his older brother.

We are doing Alpha for ds5 kindergarten. He is really enjoying it. DH is teaching him. We decided he had to do 2 pages a day. Many days, however, he wants to do and does more than that on concepts that are easier for him.

I think it's a great compliment to kindergarten. We started at the end of June (just to do a little school over the summer) and he will probably finish by December and start Alpha in January.