Menu

Introduction to Classical Music?

savmom

My dd is 8 and has had very little exposure to classical music. She not only has some learning delays from Epilepsy but she has a Sensory Perception Disorder and possibly Aspegers (we are still in the diagnostic stage on this one).

Anyway, music is VERY soothing for her (and I feel terrible that I have never pursued this avenue before :(). She already has dozens of cd's with everything from bible songs to 80's music and it really never occurred to me to try classical music. Well, until I came across a thread where someone suggested it for a child with disabilities.

So, I did a quick google search and WOW! :blink: Information overload! I was so overwhelmed that I almost fried my brain. I did find a site with clips of classical music and she LOVED it (classics for kids I think?) but the cd's they have did not specifically state if it was partial or complete songs (can you tell I have no experience with classical music :blush5:) or what.

I have NO idea where to start. :001_huh: I am not really looking for lesson plans/worksheets. What I really want are cd's with Beethoven, Bach, Tchaikovsky, etc.

:confused: Any suggestions? I would appreciate any ideas or links to cd's your dc have loved! Classical Music for Dummies maybe? :001_unsure:

Thank so much!

Cindy

I went to a convention seminar on classical music a couple of months ago. The speaker recommended this Top 100 list of the Most Popular Classical Music. She suggested downloading 1 song per week (99cents each) to build your classical music library.

We have a classical music box set, something like this. I have no idea where dh got it from, but it has about 30 cd's. My plan is to have dh put it in chronological order and play one a week, repeating the cd several times a week while we are doing other things.