Menu

So disappointed in Writing Strands...

DivaMommy

This is my first year to homeschool, and my son is in 7th and also has Asperger's (high functioning autism). He doesn't like writing (does most of it on his laptop when he does it..he's a great typist!), and so I was worried about getting a writing curriculum for him that would be fun and not too difficult. So, on the advice of WTM, I purchased a Writing Strands book (started with Book 3 since he is behind in writing). Boy, did he hate it, and so do I now. Our problem? The directions are confusing, the little sarcastic jokes don't work for a kid who doesn't get them, and the whole book seems very low on actual work/practice involved. I am so disappointed, and am now trying to find something else instead.

We use Saxon Math (which we both love), so I'm thinking of getting the Saxon Grammar/Writing. Does anyone here have opinions on this curriculum? I'm sure Writing Strands works for some families, but it totally did not for us.

Thanks in advance for any opinions on Saxon Grammar/Writing,

Andrea

I would strongly encourage you to consider IEW. IEW was written exactly for reluctant learners. Mr. Pudewa is fun and engaging on the videos, and each step is broken down so clearly that you know exactly what to do and so does your student. I am in the throes of learning this curriculum to teach two co-op classes this fall, and I am very impressed.

I don't know anything about Saxon Grammar/Writing, but I bet it would be a more "institutional" approach. IEW was written for homeschoolers and co-ops, specifically. It breaks the writing down into bite-sized chunks that are easy to accomplish one at a time.

I'm sorry about your experience with Writing Strands. I tried it three different times and loathed it : (. I use Classical Writing with my own family, but I do like the IEW approach for those without the background to do Classical Writing.