Menu

Handwriting: cursive or...?

desertmum

Hello, I am a newbie to homeschooling as this will be out first year! According to the UK national curriculum by the end of reception year (pre-k) my son should be able to write letter and numbers, etc.

My problem with this is that I've noticed that most youngsters who are taught to write in "book print" lettering because it is "easier" end up with no knowledge of cursive writing and unable to make the transition.

When I was a kid our teacher used to make us do circles and zig-zag strokes to get us used to the movements required for cursive writing, but apparently this has gone out of style. Any thoughts of this, please? :bigear:

If you google "Tracing pages" you'll find a lot of the circles, zig-zags and so on. They're not out of style at all in US preschool programs.

I think the reason kids who learn book print first have trouble making the transition has more to do with teachers not teaching cursive much at all when they learn it. My DD went to a parochial school where cursive was explicitly taught starting in the 2nd half of 2nd grade, and by 4th grade, the kids had beautiful script. But they spent a LOT of 3rd grade doing copywork in cursive. I don't see that in most schools here.

As far as standards go, unless you have to have your child evaluated on them this year, I wouldn't worry about it. Kids develop at their own rate and time, and when they're 18, no one cares which one learned to write at 4 and which one did at 6, or whether they learned manuscript first or cursive first, YKWIM?

When my dd was 4, I started her on Abeka Phonics and handwriting. Abeka gives you the option of getting the workbooks in cursive or manuscript, but the program recommends cursive for the following reasons:

1. children learn to write in cursive from the beginning and so do not need to "relearn" writing at a later age.