Menu

If you are using Vocabulary from Classical Roots...

ABQmom

...can you give me creative ideas for how you use it with your student? How do you have them work with the words each week?

I'm trying to decide if I should get dd a set of spiral bound index cards to write words in as she studies them. But, should I have her write the word and the definition and that's it? Should I have her write the word in a sentence too? Other?

I just want whatever system we use to be organized and aid with retention.

Hi! I am brand new to HS (today was our first day!), but I have a 7th grader, and we are using Vocabulary from Classical Roots. The way I do it is that he reads the lesson first. Then, he makes flash cards for the roots and the key words at the beginning (one side for the word/root and one side for the definition). Then, he'll complete the exercises by the end of the week (we do vocabulary 4x a week).

I think that TWTM has the kids write the words as they learn them in the Word Study section of their English/Reading notebooks. I am going to try doing that with my son. I'm not having him write a sentence with it on his cards since that is sort of what the exercises help with (plus he hates writing).

I'll be glad to let you know how this goes for us, but that is my plan for now! Hope this helps...

Andrea

I would not do spiral bound notes, simply because it limits how you use them. Here's what I do: at the beginning of the year I write the new root in big letters in the centre of an index card. On the back of the card I write which lesson it is from along with the definition. When we get to lesson 6, for example, I pull out the index cards that have a 6 on them. She reads the first few pages in the book and rehearses the roots and meanings, along with the ones from the previous few weeks. I then drill her for a few minutes Mon-Fri, and on the last day she fills in the worksheets.